Underestimated

I underestimate myself

While I decimate my health.

Power is present

No matter how we use it.

Do we give to the easy weight of passivity?

Do we grow complacent and bitter

At the thought of our dreams

Simply for what they ask of us?

Do we shun them?

Scorn our inner child 

For wanting something beautiful

Out of this world?

How dare you 

Ask me to live this unlived life.

I do not want it.

I am not good enough for it.

You’ve got the wrong girl. 

Maybe try next door.

But I underestimate myself.

I give in to appalling behaviors.

I hurt myself 

Because it’s easier than

Stepping into my true power.

Leave a Reply

