This Piece of Wood

The only time I feel 

A modicum of freedom

On this piece of wood. 

The wind in my curls

And a bee on my shoulder

The possibility of a broken jaw looming beneath my feet.

The chance to catch a fear 

In its shifting tracks. 

The sunlight on my black jeans

The smell of asphalt in my nose

And a lady bug crawling my hand.

Sixteen spots, eight on each side;

Kicking and pushing

Pushing the limits

Testing my soul

Learning to slide,

To throw my feet against the momentum

My back to the carve

Because there’s nothing to lose. 

Freedom.

Leave a Reply

